CELM curators

Grant to the museum

The curators of the museum at the Comann Eachdraidh Lios Mòr have, over time, become aware of its unique responsibility as the only social history museum in the area, apart from the Mull Museum in Tobermory. Now, thanks to an award of £20,000 over two years from the Esmée Fairbairn Foundation, they are in the position to appoint an Access Officer who will ensure that the museum's collections of objects, archive and photographs, become available to a wider and growing audience.

The officer, who will be a part-time curatorial assistant, will develop a hands-on programme of events for the primary schools in the area, put together travelling displays of the museum collection, establish contact with other museums to foster exchange of items, and make accessible historic possessions held elsewhere on the island, such as the horse harness last hung up in a barn in 1946.

Every year at least 1500 adults and many more children visit the award-winning museum at the Heritage Centre, and extending access will greatly enhance their experience of the many attractions which include enjoying the hospitality offered by the museum café.

Provided by Pauline Dowling on 5th May 2011
Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional