(click any of the photos to enlarge)
Rev. Dr Roderick D. M. Campbell
Tel 01631 730143
Click here to e-mail
All are Welcome. Please Join us at a service or simply enjoy the peace and quiet and sit for a while
every Sunday at 12.30 pm
The children of the Sunday school – 'the young church' – meet for the first part of the Church Service, on two Sundays a month, then leave for their own time in the 'Wee Manse'.
Visitors are always welcome.
|Points of Interest :|
The Communion Token
Two hundred years ago, in 1806, our Communion Tokens were cast. In the 19th century,
of course, to receive a token meant being examined by the Kirk Session as to one’s
worthiness to receive the sacrament. As these people of old revered the token and the Communion it gave them
access to so do we in Lismore today, though without the interview.
Made of lead, octagonal and about 0.8 of an inch wide, the token has the date,
1806, the initials J.S. for the minister of the Parish, Rev. John
Stewart, and L & A. for Lismore and Appin.
The Pulpit Fall
Our beautiful and unusual Pulpit Fall was commissioned by the Woman’s Guild to mark the Centenary of the Guild in 1987. The designer, and embroiderer, was the late Elizabeth Odling, a much loved lady artist who had formerly lectured at the Glasgow School of Art and who retired to Lismore with her husband Ted. The fabric is mostly silk in shades of blues and purples for the sky, and greens for the island, silver material for the sea and gold for the sun with sequins to add sparkle. It is unique in design and is as stunning today as it was when Elizabeth made it.
Alcoves on the south wall in which there would have been
wooden seats for three priests.
The Piscina –
Where the Communion vessels were washed, and situated next to the sedilia.
The Church Windows – Click on the picture to enlarge and see a copy of the script on the Window
The Artist of the St Moluag and St Columba windows, Mary Isobel Wood (1886-1975), was the second child of John Philip Wood and Margaret E Tennent. Born and brought up in Edinburgh, she trained at Edinburgh College [of Art] where she later taught stained glass. Apart from Lismore, she also has a window of St Cuthbert in St Cuthberts Church, Edinburgh, a memorial window for her family in Bowden Kirk, Melrose and windows in Kirkliston and Athelstaneford Kirks. She was also Herald Painter to the Lyon Court and made memorable lino cut Christmas cards. Her studio was in William Street Lane, Edinburgh.